"Charming miniature of Scottsdale's first lady, Helen Scott, seated sidesaddle upon Chaplain Winfield Scott's trusty U.S. Cavalry steed, Old Maud..."
"Scottsdale Arizona Progress", September 20, 1991.
Originally commissioned by The Great Scott Gang to support the Scottsdale Historical Society's Little Red School House museum where Helen Scott taught.
LIFE-SIZE VERSION: At the behest of the Scottsdale Cultural Council, the artist has added Winfield Scott to an enlarged clay model and fundraising is in progress for the bronze to be purchased for Scottsdale.
Winfield Scott Memorial
Chaplain Winfield Scott and his wife, Helen Louise Brown Scott, supported one another in a myriad of accomplishments during their eventful lives - traveling from New York to California before settling in Arizona. In 1894, Scottsdale was named in honor our city's energetic founder.
A Civil War hero, known as "the Fighting Parson," Winfield was born on February 26, 1837 in West Novi, Michigan, and raised on a farm in upper New York State. A native of New York, Helen was born February 8, 1838 in Plainfield where she became a teacher. Winfield and Helen were married December 13, 1861, the day he graduated from Rochester Theological Seminary.
In 1862, Captain Scott organized Company C of the 126th New York Volunteer Infantry to fight in the Civil War. He fought in the battles of Harper's Ferry, Gettysburg, Wilderness and Spotsylvania. He was wounded five times, twice seriously. Upon learning of his life-threatening wounds, Helen was told she could not go to the battlefield. This persuasive young woman gained an audience with President Lincoln who granted her permission to proceed to the front and take Winfield home where she nursed him back to health.
During the nearly 20 years before being appointed an U.S. Army Chaplain in 1882, he performed ministerial duties and built churches in the western states. In July 1888, Winfield purchased 640 acres of desert land east of Scottsdale Road and north of Indian School Road, which today is the heart of downtown. An astute businessman, land promoter, and a "magnetic public speaker," he convinced others to join him in this new land venture, which was known as Orangedale. It wasn't until 1894 that the town's name was changed to "Scotts-Dale" in honor of its promoter.
In 1889, Chaplain Scott transferred from Angel Island, California to Fort Huachuca where he served until he retired from the army in 1893. "Old Maud," Scott's trusty mule and a veteran of the Apache campaigns, was retired along with him and became a part of the Scott family. When Maud could no longer work the farm, she became a companion to the children of Scottsdale - much to their delight.
The Scotts became prominent leaders of the community, devoting their lives to helping others. Winfield served as a member of the Territorial House of Representatives and Chancellor of the University of Arizona from 1903 - 1905. Helen promoted the arts and education. The contributions of both Winfield and Helen provided Scottsdale a rich heritage. The Chaplain died in 1910 at age 73; Helen died in 1931 at age 93.
The time has come to honor this distinguished couple with the Winfield Scott Memorial. The bronze statues will depict Winfield standing alongside "Old Maud" with Helen seated sidesaddle atop the mule, recapturing a scene from the past. The larger than life statues will be sited near the Scottsdale Historical Museum on the Civic Center Mall.
12 inch maquette
Inquire about a purchase »